2017 Commonwealth Student Moot


The fifteenth Commonwealth Moot will be held in conjunction with the 20th Commonwealth Law Conference also being held in Melbourne.

The Commonwealth Moot is an initiative of the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA) and the Commonwealth Lawyers Association (CLA). It is an ‘invitation-only’ Moot, being limited to representative teams from regions of the Commonwealth only. The regions, for the this purpose, are; North America, United Kingdom, the Caribbean, South Asia (India), South Asia (Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka), South East Asia, Western Africa , Eastern Africa, Southern Africa, Australasia (Australia and New Zealand send separate teams), and the South Pacific.

The website for the Commonwealth Moot holds further information for teams including the Rules and the Problem.

To receive updates for the Melbourne conference and our quarterly newsletters, please enter your email address on our home page.

The teams eligible to compete in the 2017 Moot will be:

Australia and New Zealand
The highest placed teams in the Australian Law Students’ Association Moot.
The highest placed teams in the New Zealand Law Students’ Association Moot.

Western Africa, Southern Africa and Eastern Africa
The highest placed Commonwealth member country in the respective region as decided by the All Africa Human Rights Moot Court Competition.

United Kingdom
The winners of the English Speaking Union’s National Mooting Competition.

North America (Canada) 
The winner of the Gale Cup Moot.

South Asia (India)
The winners of the national competition conducted by the CLEA Indian Chapter.

South Asia (Bangladesh, Pakistan & Sri Lanka)
The winner of the regional competition.

Past Winners
Presently the teams compete for the shield formerly known as the ‘Turnbull Shield’ and now generally referred to as the ‘Commonwealth Shield’.

The winning nations and years as listed on the shield are:
1983 (in Hong Kong) – Australia
1986 (in Jamaica) – United Kingdom
1990 (in New Zealand) – United Kingdom
1993 (in Cyprus) – Canada
1996 (in Canada) – Australia
1999 (in Malaysia) – South Africa
2001 (in Sri Lanka) – United Kingdom
2003 (in Australia) – United Kingdom
2005 (in United Kingdom) – Canada
2007 (in Kenya) – Australia
2009 (in Hong Kong) – South Africa
2011 (in India) – Sri Lanka
2013 (in South Africa) – United Kingdom

For the Moot Rules, Moot Problem and the Registration Form, please see the links in the left section at the top of this page. For details of the venue for the Moot, visit the Commonwealth Law Conference website, although moot competitors need not register as delegates for the Commonwealth Law Conference.

Comments are closed.